London School of Economics EOPP: Economic Organisation and Public Policy Programme LSE
EOPP: Economic Organisation and Public Policy Programme

News and Visitors:

News Archive 2005

See ALL news items for 2021, 2020, 2019, 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2006, or 2005

Click on a link for full report

STICERD Director Awarded Economics Prize
Professor Timothy Besley awarded the Yrjö Jahnsson Prize in economics

Timothy Besley, Professor of Economics and Political Science and Director of STICERD at LSE, has been awarded the Yrjö Jahnsson Prize in economics.

The award, established by the Finnish Yrjö Jahnsson Foundation, is granted every second year to a young economist who is a European national or whose primary affiliation is to a European institution, and who has made a contribution in theoretical or applied research significant to economics in Europe.

This selection committee consists of five members, four nominated by the European Economic Association and one by the Yrjö Jahnsson Foundation.

The committee said: 'Professor Besley has produced landmark papers in three research areas: development economics, public economics and political economy. His research spans across topics such as the provision of public goods, poverty alleviation programs, credit cooperatives and financial intermediation in developing countries, land and labour market reform, political economy of regulation.'

'The hallmark of his research is a combination of originality of insights, modelling rigor, careful canvassing of the evidence, and high policy relevance. His outstanding contributions have established him as a leading scholar in public economics and political economy.'

Professor Besley is the third LSE economist to receive the award since it was started in 1993. It was awarded jointly to Professor John Hardman-Moore and Professor Nobu Kiyotaki from LSE's Economics Department in 1999.

A list of past winners is available from the European Economics Association website.

For more details on the award visit the Yrjö Jahnsson Foundation website.

News Posted: 01 January 2005      [Back to the Top]