Suntory and Toyota International Centres for Economics and Related Disciplines (STICERD) LSE RSS Contact Us YouTube Twitter

Our objective is to develop the alumni networks in India in order to maintain and strengthen relationships with former students and friends, and to engage their active support. We have been building, strengthening and supporting alumni networks in Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai and Bangalore through regular events and meetings.

Alumni and Honorary Fellows

  • Dr Bhimrao Ambedkar, Chief Architect of Indian Constitution
  • Mr Shail Anjarai, International Monetary Foundation
  • Mr Kalyan Banerji, World Bank
  • Mr Jyoti Kiran Basu, former Chief Minister of West Bengal
  • Professor Partha Dasgupta, Honorary Fellow LSE and Professor Emeritus of Economics, University of Cambridge
  • Mr Anthony Desai, Honorary fellow LSE and former Governor of West Bengal
  • Mr Ashok Desai (in memory), Attorney General of India (1996-1998) and Solicitor General of India (1989-1990)
  • Mr Nitin Desai, Honorary Fellow LSE and formerly of the United Nations
  • Dr John Matthai, First Railway Minister (1947-48) and subsequently Finance Minister (1949-50), Government of India
  • Mr VK Krishna Menon, motivator for India League; India's freedom movement
  • Shri Dr KR Narayanan, Honorary Fellow LSE and former President of India
  • Dr IG Patel, Honorary Fellow LSE and Director of LSE 1984-90
  • Mr Aroon Purie, India Today Group founding Chairman and Editor-in-Chief
  • Professor Amartya Sen, Honorary Fellow LSE and Professor of Economics and Philosophy, Harvard University
  • Dr Manmohan Singh, Honorary Fellow of Asia Research Centre and Former Prime Minister of India
  • Dr Tarlok Singh, Honorary Fellow LSE and India's first High Commissioner in London
  • Mr Ratan Tata, Honorary Fellow LSE and Former Chairman of Tata Sons

Alumni Chapters in India

There are currently alumni chapters in Bangalore, Chennai, Kolkata, Mumbai and New Delhi

See LSE Alumni Association India for contact details.